Sunday Dinner: Mustard Maple Pork Loin

I love Sundays! Growing up, my mom would cook a big Sunday lunch after church. It was almost always a casserole, vegetables, applesauce, and rolls. I love handing down traditions, so I now like to cook Sunday dinner for my family.

When I married my husband, I will confess I was queen of casseroles.  I really didn’t get into seasoning meat unless with it was salt and pepper. He called me “meat lazy” after a couple of chicken boiling episodes. I definitely needed some help.

My husband is originally from Puerto Rico, and boy, does he love his pork.  If we get into an argument, I will make pork for dinner as a peace-offering. No kidding! We’ve been married close to 8 years, so I have been working on my meat skills and moved beyond just salt and pepper. It’s now become a bit of a healthy competition between us.  My husband is a pretty awesome cook. He gets full credit for my developed meat skills even if I smoke him. (I love you, babe!)

Now that you know the history and importance of pork in my marriage, I want to share the recipe that left him, not speechless but with a mouth full of pork.  This is part of a recipe from Cooking Light. They used tenderloin and apples. I like a pork loin. I hope you enjoy it! Let me know if you try it.

Mustard Maple Pork Loin

3-4 lb. pork loin, trimmed

1.5 tsp. Course Salt

1/2 tsp. Pepper

2 tsp. Dried Rosemary or a couple of fresh sprigs

1/4 cup Dijon mustard

3 Tbsp. maple syrup

Trim excess fat from pork loin. Wash and pat dry with paper towel. Add salt, pepper, and dried rosemary to pork. Combine mustard and 2 tablespoons of maple syrup. Slather pork in mixture. Let marinate in refrigerator for an hour.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place pork in oven, fat side down. Cook for 30 minutes. Rotate loin and cook for another 20-25 minutes or until pork reaches 155 degrees. Remove from oven. Baste with last tablespoon of maple syrup. Let stand 10 minutes and serve.

*This makes 2 meals for my family of 4.

*Note: You might want to coat your pan with a little bit of canola oil using a paper towel or line the bottom of a roasting pan with aluminum foil. Also, I have a convection oven. Cooking time may vary.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

