Crazy for Quinoa and Food Fave Friday

Awww…Friday! I love Friday because I can share all my new favorite food finds with you. I am playing with a few new themes on my blog and this one has stuck. I love showing people new products or new produce they haven’t seen before. I hope you like it.

Weekly Special – Quinoa

September is Whole Grain month and to celebrate, I will be featuring a whole grain each week as the “Weekly Special”. Quinoa has become quite popular the last few years. This gluten-free pseudo grain packs a nutritional punch because it’s higher in protein than any other whole grain. You can buy quinoa in different forms: grain, flakes, flavored ready to cook packets, pasta, flour, and even soups. Quinoa is surprisingly related to spinach and beets.   This is a very new grain to many consumers so it’s helpful to know its nutrition benefits and ways to prepare it. It’s my hope that the benefits and recipes will have you putting it in your shopping cart next time you’re at the grocery store. Click on the picture to find out more quinoa facts below.

If you want to try some really easy and good recipes, check these yummy ones out.

Quookies (Gluten Free, Dairy Free)

Blueberry Banana Quinoa Parfait

Berry Walnut Breakfast Quinoa (Gluten & Dairy Free)


Fave Produce: Champagne Grapes

I saw these and just had to have these cute little purple jewels. My daughter calls them “tiny baby grapes”. Also called miniature currant grapes, they are as sweet as they look. Their availability is limited to July and August.

Happy Friday, everyone! Enjoy your weekend! If you have a food fave, please let me know and I may feature it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Product Picks, Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

