Roasted Mustard Potatoes and Food Fave Friday

It’s Friday! I am usually not that excited but this weekend is different. I may not live in the South anymore, but this weekend is the start of tradition, food and FOOTBALL! For this Nashville native, I was in heaven because the Titans and Vandy were playing. While I couldn’t go to the Vanderbilt or Titans game last night, I did get to watch Vandy on TV.  Unfortunately, I am used to seeing them lose but they played so well, and it’s the best I’ve seen them play in a while.

Now, on to my favorites. Last night, we had these delicious roasted mustard potatoes for dinner. What I love about these tators is that I cut them up, threw them in a bag and shook them up. Who doesn’t love that kind of cooking? This is Ina Garten’s recipe with a few things left out (only because I didn’t have it on hand). Ina is one of my favorite TV chefs. I have almost all of her cookbooks. She taught me how to roast the perfect chicken and make the best cakes. I made these potatoes and my husband and kids love them. These are so super-duper easy! That’s why they made my faves list! Check out what else I love this week.

Fave Recipe: Roasted Mustard Potatoes

2.5 pounds small red potatoes, halved and quartered

2-3 Tbsp. olive oil

2 Tbsp. whole grain mustard (Grey Poupon, anyone?)

1 tsp. black pepper

1-2 tsp. kosher salt

*Ina uses 2 yellow onions and 1/4 cup chopped parsley in hers but I didn’t for this.

Place parchment of a cookie sheet and preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place all ingredients in a large gallon sized ziplock bag. Shake until potatoes coated.

Place on cookie sheet and bake 40-50 minutes. I have a convection oven and mine took 40 minutes. Be sure to check them at 40 minutes for doneness.

Favorite Fresh Produce: Pre Cut Sweet Potato Sticks

If you don’t have time to prep vegetables, your supermarket may be able to help you. I found these sweet potato sticks ready to go at my local supermarket. I just tossed them with a little olive oil and baked them on a cookie sheet. They were fresh and delicious.

Favorite “On the go” Item: Go Picnic

I had heard about these from supermarket dietitian, Martha Nepper. I just found them at a local store and I had to buy them. This particular one is perfect creation for someone like me who has dairy and gluten intolerances. My favorite part is the “to go” hummus! It’s brilliant and I thought all the items were delicious. They have other packs you can check out at http://www.gopicnic.com.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Product Picks, Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

