Eat “Fruit Fries” Instead of Greasy French Fries

Summer is here! I don’t know about you but we get pretty excited about swimming pools, vacations, and sleeping in. We do get a little lazy in the summer months, but I don’t get lazy about getting my kids to eat fruit.

I found some adorable french fry boxes at HomeGoods. I just couldn’t resist them. While my kids are used to seeing these filled with grease laden french fries, I am hoping these juicy “Fruit Fries” will get them asking for more fresh fruits.

This idea doesn’t require a recipe. Just cut any fruit you have into sticks or stick like slices and place them in some french fry boxes.  I do like to line my boxes with parchment paper to prevent any watery fruit leaks.

I chose mango and watermelon for my fries. A one cup serving of mango is 100 calories and meets 100% of your daily recommended intake of Vitamin C. This juicy fruit is also a good source of Vitamin A and fiber. Watermelon is not only delicious, but 2 cups is ONLY 80 calories! You also get a good dose of Vitamin C, Vitamin A, Vitamin B6, and potassium. Compare this to a large french fries from McDonald’s which is 500 calories and 25 grams of fat. If you eat 1 cup of mango and 2 cups of watermelon that is still only 180 calories and no fat.

These are great for any occasion! Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

