Support Our Troops with #MilitaryMonFoodPhotos in May

I am an Air Force wife. Lord willingly, we are lifers. That’s military for 20+ years. My husband is also a dietitian like me, but he doesn’t practice anymore. That’s how we met. We were interns together in Lexington, KY. Fast forward to 2012 and today is actually our 7 year wedding anniversary. (Happy Anniversary, Baby!) Seven years, two kids, and 4 states later, I would still leave everything I knew behind to go with him on this journey. Military life has not been so easy on this small town Southern girl. I’m still “in processing” to a point, but I wouldn’t trade this life for anything. As an anniversary gift, I wanted to do something for my airman to show my love and pride for what he does for me and our country. #Militarymonfoodphotos is to pay tribute to the love of my life and to the thousands of military men and women serving our great country by using the one thing I know best, food.

#MilitaryMon is a twitter movement I have been participating in every week. According to http://www.militarymon.org, it is a way to show support for our troops. I was also inspired by @thepurplecarrot for the #march/aprilfoodphotos they have been posting.  So, I thought I would tag along and maybe get some fellow dietitians, foodies, friends, military spouses and just good ole’ Americans to show their patriotic support through food since Memorial Day is approaching the last Monday in May.

So here’s what I am thinking, each Monday in May post patriotic food photos to Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, or your blog.  Make your food as red, white, and/or blue as you like or in the shape of the stars and stripes. Since I am a dietitian, of course I would love for it to be healthy, but it’s not required. Use the hashtag #militarymonfoodphotos. If I can figure out how WordPress works, I will try to post recap pictures on my blog.  So pass it on, SUPPORT OUR TROOPS! Feed their eyes/bellies with great food photos to show our appreciation for their sacrifice.

Dates for #militarymonfoodphotos

Monday, May 7

Monday, May 14

Monday, May 21

Monday, May 28 (Memorial Day)


Tags: , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Support Our Troops with #MilitaryMonFoodPhotos in May”

  1. April 30, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    This is a wonderful idea Betsy! I’ll have to think of something creative to make and photograph next week!

Leave a Reply

