Product Review: King Arthur Gluten Free Muffin Mix

I am a baker at heart, and I love scratch baking. However, gluten-free baking is frustrating for me especially since there are some many different flour combinations. I have tried several brands of multipurpose flour and then I found King Arthur flour and fell in love. It was a no brainer for me to pick up a box of their muffin mix when it hit my store’s shelf. I must admit I was skeptical at first.  Before I reveal my result, let me walk you through the recipe.

Ingredients:

1 Box of King Arthur Gluten Free Muffin Mix

6 Tbsp melted butter or Oil

3 Large Eggs

3/4 cup Milk

1 1/2 cups of additional (Optional) Add-Ins

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375. Grease 12 cup standard muffin pan or line with paper muffin cups.

2. Whisk together melted butter or oil, eggs, and muffin mix. Beat in the milk about 1/4 cup at a time, scraping the bottom of the bowl after each addition. If desired, stir in 1 1/2 cups of fresh berries, chopping nuts, dried fruit or chocolate chips.

3. Fill the muffin cups almost full.

4. Bake for 18 to 22 minutes, until a cake tester or toothpick comes out clean.

5. Remove from oven and after 5 minutes transfer muffins to a rack to cool.

* The only thing I changed was the add ins. I added one mashed banana to the batter. Once the muffin cups were full, I let each child and myself put in their own add ins. My kids wanted chocolate chips. I wanted lots of walnuts.

Serves 12. (Although, I got 14.)

Nutrition Facts: 210 calories, 8.5 grams fat, 4.5 grams saturated fat, 70 milligrams cholesterol, 420 milligrams sodium, 34 grams total carbohydrate, 3 grams fiber, 17 grams sugar, 3 grams protein

Results: I loved these muffins. They were moist and flavorful. The crumb was perfect. Honestly, you would never know they are gluten-free. I had one for dessert later that night.

Suggestions: The next time I make these, I will try tinkering with the ingredients to make them dairy free. I will also try to substitute the fat with fruit puree. It’s important to remember to follow box directions the first time around so you can get a real feel for the product. It’s also important to get a feel for the batter if you are not used to baking gluten-free products. The consistency is different.

RD/Mom Rating: Approved. Great product to change-up your breakfast routine every once in a while. I would definitely want to see if I could get the total fat down next time. Sugar is the first ingredient which I don’t like, but it’s great to have a “I can’t tell it’s gluten-free” breakfast muffin. I would definitely have a good protein source to go with the muffins. Since they are higher in calorie and fat, try to limit it to one or two at a meal.

Kid Rating: Empty plate approved. They especially enjoyed adding their own add ins.

 


Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Product Picks, Shopping with Health Conditions

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

