Product Review: YoCrunch Yogurts & Giveaway:

Yo, yogurt fans! Let’s talk yogurt, and its creamy goodness. Yogurt is so versatile. It can be eaten as a snack, as part of a meal, an after workout recovery food, or as a dessert. As a RD and a mom, what do I look for in a yogurt? First, I look for live/active cultures and ingredients used. I also like to see how many calories and fat I will be taking in. From a nutritional perspective yogurt is an excellent source of calcium and protein. It’s also beneficial for your colon health especially if it contains live and active cultures. Many people who suffer from lactose intolerance may be able to tolerate yogurt due to the culturing process that breaks down the lactose. If eaten regularly, yogurt may help with other health conditions such as osteoporosis, hypertension, and yeast infections. It may give your immune system a much needed boost. You might even find your doctor giving you a yogurt prescription if you or your kids are taking antibiotics to help restore healthy bacteria in your tummy.

With the yogurt market booming, sometimes it’s hard to make a choice. It’s good to mix it up so you don’t get stuck in a yogurt rut. I have 2 basic rules I follow in nutrition. Rule #1: Food must have taste, texture, and presentation. Rule #2: Put a little carbohydrate, fat, and protein on your plate for balanced eating. My favorite YoCrunch selections were the YoCrunch Peach & Blueberry Parfaits 4 ounce cups, YoCrunch Honey, New Blueberry & Peach Greek Parfaits, & YoCrunch 100 Calorie Cheesecake Yogurt. What did I like about these YoCrunch yogurts? These YoCrunch yogurts passed my first rule since they put crunch in my yogurt with the granola topping. It’s a small serving of granola so it’s perfectly portioned for me. You may be getting a few more calories but I like the creamy and crunch combination. It also passed my second rule for having carbs, fat, and protein present. This helps in keeping me satisfied longer and not reaching for something else. I also like that you have the option to add as much granola as you like. The creamy YoCrunch Fruit Parfaits (4 ounce) have 120 calories and 3 grams of protein. While the YoCrunch Greek Yogurts aren’t as thick as other brands, the big chunks of fruit are a pleasant and welcomed surprise. They have around 120 calories and 7 grams of protein in the 4 ounce cups.  You may be worried about the amount of sugar per serving, but you need to consider the granola or crumb topping as part of that. As for the YoCrunch Cheesecake Yogurt, I really love that it is 100 calories, and it totally satisfies my sweet tooth. It’s 100 calorie dessert! My kids really like the YoCrunch Oreo 100 calorie packs. I like the fact that they are only getting around 2 teaspoons of cookies with a balance of yummy yogurt filled with calcium and protein.

*Giveaway is now closed.

If you want to try YoCrunch for yourself, I am giving away FREE coupons for YoCrunch multipacks to 2 lucky readers. That is 16 yogurts per person.

To enter:

Leave a comment of why you like YoCrunch or why would like to try YoCrunch here.

You can be entered a second time if you like us on Supermarket Nutrition 411 or tweet it, link it back to me, and let me know in the comments.

Giveaway Rules:

You must be 18 years of age and a U.S. resident. Giveaway ends on Friday, September 30 at 5 p.m. EST.  Winner chosen using random.org. Winner will be contacted via email.

Coupons:

www.YoCrunch.com

$1 off any 2 candy or cookie multipacks

$1 off  any 2 fruit parfait multipacks

YoCrunch Facebook Page

$1 off any 2 YoCrunch Greek Cups

$1 off any 4 candy & cookie or granola cups

Disclaimer: I was NOT compensated for this review or giveaway. YoCrunch did provide the coupons. The opinions are mine.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Product Picks

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Product Review: YoCrunch Yogurts & Giveaway:”

  1. K.
    September 28, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    Are there any artificial sweeteners, colors, or HFCS hiding in there?

    • Supermarketnutrition411
      September 28, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      Only the 100 kcal packs have Stevia. The oreo cookie versions of the 100 kcal packs have high fructose corn syrup only in the cookies. You will find caramel color and artificial color in the cheesecake crumb topping, not in the yogurt. The strawberry parfaits do contain red dye 40. The ones I reviewed do not have HFCS, artificial flavors /dyes, or artificial sweeteners. I mentioned the 100 kcal packs b/c the amount present is so miminal due to the serving size of the topping. Would be nice to see it all natural.

      • K.
        September 29, 2011 at 12:31 am #

        Thank you for looking that up!

  2. September 29, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    I’d love to try it—-mostly because I’m stuck in that rut you are talking about. Trying to make better choices and getting their one product at a time. However, I’ve mostly been focusing on kids foods, but need to paying more attention to mine! The 4 pack, 100 calorie ones sound great—-totally convenient when I don’t have time to sit down and eat or make good choices.

Leave a Reply

