Veggie Goulash: For You, Granny

I miss my Granny all the time. She had this enormous garden in the back of her house filled with corn, strawberries, peas, green beans, and more. We used to play hide and seek in the corn stalks and house in some nearby tree roots with all my cousins. I used to sit and snap beans with her more times than I can count. We even used to go pick fresh muscadines in the forest on her farm. I so miss the taste of her fresh fruits and vegetables but I miss her way more. I have been thinking about her a lot this week. While we all  have September 11, 2001, etched in our hearts, I also have September 16, 2001, etched on mine.  It was the day my Granny died. Not to get too sappy, but this is dedicated to her and the legacy she left behind . If she were still here, I would spend more time in the garden and the kitchen with her.

What do I remember the most about my Granny’s dishes? I remember her mouth-watering green beans that I still crave, salad with more dressing than lettuce, caramel pie, cornbread (You eat in a glass with it covered in milk.),  and her goulash. My Granny’s cooking was not the healthiest. It usually contained some type of lard or fat. Her goulash was one of my favorites, even though it was dripping in grease. Her goulash was a dish that dumped meat, tomatoes and a lot of leftovers in her iron skillet. That skillet is still in my family, and it’s a very seasoned and prized possession.

In the south, goulash is a combination of leftovers and meat. Since I have been thinking about Granny and her goulash a lot, it actually gave me an idea for dinner last night. Why not veggie goulash or at least my version of it? My husband wasn’t home for dinner, so it was just me and kids. I had a few leftovers veggies that needed to get eaten and some canned items as well to throw in a skillet. I wondered if Granny would have eaten it since it was all veggies and no meat. I hope she would because it was so good! So thanks, Granny! I love and miss you!

(This pic is my Papa & Granny at my cousin’s wedding years ago. It’s one of my favorites.)

Here’s what I had on hand:

1/4 bag of baby spinach

1/4 bag of shredded red cabbage

1/4 of sweet yellow onion

Clove of fresh garlic

1/2 can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

1 small can of beets, drained and rinsed

Saute the onion and red cabbage in 1 Tbsp. of olive oil over low/medium heat. Add beans, garlic, & beets. Add spinach at the end. Just warm it, don’t wilt it. Toss it will dressing below.

Dressing:

Whisk together the following:

1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

1 1/2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar

1 tsp. stone ground mustard

2 tsp. honey

Tags: , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

