New Product Review: Kellogg’s New Gluten Free Rice Krispies

Today was certainly crazy for us. We had speech therapy, haircuts, grocery shopping, naps, and swimming lessons.  I have been trying for two days to get my post on popsicles ready, but that all changed when I went grocery shopping today. I was cracking up at my daughter as she entertained shoppers by dancing down the cereal aisle, and there it was calling to me, Gluten Free Rice Krispies! It’s like she was the Snap, Crackle, and Pop Fairy guiding me with her fairy dust right to the box. Ironically, just last night I was thinking how great it would be to have Gluten Free Rice Krispies. I have been eating Chex for so long. I was getting bored. After we got home from the grocery store, I opened these up and tried them just to see how they tasted. I knew I only had one hour to unpack my groceries and get to swimming lessons, but for some reason I became obsessed with making Rice Krispie treats. It did make for a great after swim snack.

Ingredient List: Whole Grain brown rice, sugar, 2% of less of salt, BHT for freshness

Nutrition Facts: (cereal with no milk)

Serving Size: 1 cup

120 calories, 1 gram total fat, o grams of trans or saturated fat, 0 milligrams cholesterol, 190 milligrams sodium, 90 milligrams potassium, 27 grams total carbohydrate, 1 gram dietary fiber, less than 1 gram of sugar, 3 grams of protein

RD/Mom Rating: Snap, Crackle, and Pop Approved!!! I love that is made from brown rice and it tastes almost identical to regular Rice Krispies. It still snaps, crackles, and pops in milk too! It’s not much different nutritionally from the original, but that doesn’t change my excitement for the new addition to the gluten-free market. In my experience, shoppers always assumed regular Rice Krispies was Gluten Free because it’s made of rice. It is made of rice, but it also has malted barley which is derived from wheat so it’s been off the Gluten Free shopping list. It’s also very affordable for now. Personally, I grew up on Rice Krispies so it is great to have a childhood comfort food back.

Kid Rating: Well, that one’s easy, Approved! They loved their GF Rice Krispie Treat popsicles. Yes, I had to do something on popsicles since I promised myself I would get to that post today. There is always tomorrow, right?

Coupon Savings: Get .70 cents off GF Rice Krispies when you sign up with Kellogg’s on their website.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Product Picks, Shopping with Health Conditions

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “New Product Review: Kellogg’s New Gluten Free Rice Krispies”

  1. July 19, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I love the Krispies popsicles! Great idea!

  2. Mama Frances
    July 21, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Thoroughly enjoyed your rice krispy blog. You are very creative and informative! Loved the story about your little ones and the popsicle idea! I can just hear you telling it! You are precious! I want to be on your mail list! I love you!

Leave a Reply

