Berry Walnut Breakfast Quinoa (Gluten & Dairy Free)

quinoa

I’ve been taking a break from blogging this summer to spend more time with my kids before school starts. My oldest starts Kindergarten in just 2 weeks (sniff, sniff). My youngest will follow next year. They are only this little once, and I want every second I can get, so everything else went on the back-burner. I will only be posting easy recipes for the next few weeks when I am not doing science experiments, building legos, or having tea parties.

I couldn’t miss a chance to share a super simple and healthy recipe with you considering it’s berry season. Berries are rich in antioxidants, high in fiber, and low in calories, making them a perfect addition to my quinoa. Quinoa is a gluten-free “ancient grain” that is higher in protein and high in fiber. Walnuts also make an appearance for some added fiber, Omega-3′s, and crunch.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup cooked quinoa* (I cook 1 cup quinoa on stove top & then store in fridge to eat throughout the week)

1/4 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup fresh raspberries

1/2 cup vanilla almond milk

1 tsp. maple syrup

1 Tbsp. chopped walnuts

Directions:

Place 1/2 cup cooked quinoa in bowl with fresh berries. Add almond milk & maple syrup. Stir. Place in microwave for 2 or more minutes (depending on your microwave). Top with chopped walnuts. Enjoy!

*I use Ancient Harvest quinoa. You put 2 cups of water and 1 cup of quinoa in a saucepan on the stove top. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and let simmer on low for 10-15 minutes. I cook this the night before and put it in the fridge for breakfast and any lunch items I may use it in.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crazy for Quinoa and Food Fave Friday | - September 7, 2012

    [...] Berry Walnut Breakfast Quinoa (Gluten & Dairy Free) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

